News & Insights

What are the Different Classes of Storage Tank Operators?

October 7, 2014 | Posted in Blog

If you own or work with or around an underground storage tank on a regular basis, you are known as a storage tank operator. There are three classes of underground storage tank operators: A, B, and C. In this week’s blog, we’ll cover what these different classes mean, and what kind of training is required to obtain certification as a storage tank operator.

Storage Tank Operator Classes

Class A
A class A operator has the primary responsibility for operating and maintaining the underground storage tank system. Class A operators are charged with using their resources and personnel to accomplish this task. Essentially, the primary goal of a Class A operator is to ensure that storage tank systems under their ownship meet and continue to meet federal and state regulations.

Class B
The class B operator is the person who oversees the on-site operation of underground storage tank systems on a daily basis. They need to know the ins and outs of how storage tank systems work, and how maintenance is performed.

Class C
A class C operator is a person who works on-site around storage tanks on a daily basis. The class C operator needs to know how to respond to storage tank-related emergencies such as a leak quickly and effectively.

Storage Tank Operator Training

Storage tank operator training requirements vary from state to state. States that receive funds from the federal Leaking Underground Storage Tank Trust Fund “are required to develop state-specific operator training requirements that meet EPA’s grant guidelines.” For an example of a state’s storage tank operator training requirements, please find the requirements for Maryland at this link, as well as approved operator training courses.

storage tank operator


Trust The Full Service Tank Experts.

Request a Quote